Rebecca
Gannon

Rebecca has a Bachelor of Psychological Science (Honours) and Master of Psychology (Educational and Developmental). She is a registered Circle of Security Parent Educator.

To learn more about lovely Rebecca Gannon, read on …
Rebecca ProfileWhat is your work background?

From 2015-2019 I worked with children and families in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community health settings. I was part of a multi-disciplinary complex care and assessment team with Occupational Therapists, Speech/Language Pathologists and Paediatricians. My experience also includes working extensively with schools, hospitals, and community-based organisations to support children and their families. I have been at Nest Psychology since 2018 and I really love being part of the team here.

Why do you like working with children and families?

I’ve been working with children and families in various capacities for 10 years. I value the honesty, playfulness, creativity and curiosity of children and young people. I consider it an honour and a privilege to walk alongside families through their highs and lows. The trust of families is something I never take lightly. I find deep meaning in helping families to understand their children and each other, and to feel stronger in the various systems they live within (education, work, community).

What are your strengths?

I have a special interest in Autism, especially working with girls and women who are Autistic or experiencing challenges and difficulties related to their neurodivergence. I believe in supporting Autistic people to be their neurodivergent selves and I am very passionate about working in an affirmative way with Autistic people. I work in an integrated style with other allied health disciplines such as Occupational Therapists and Speech/Language Pathologists so that children and families have wraparound support to move toward their goals. I am LGBTQIA+ friendly and work with families of all shapes, sizes and colours. I am Aboriginal (Wiradjuri) so I also happily see mob.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I enjoy time with my 3 young children, cooking, photography and outdoor adventures. I’m also working part-time on a PhD in Human Geography.